Understanding Dive Numbers

​Forward, Back, Reverse and Inward Dive Numbers

There are six categories/groups of dives and each type of dive has a corresponding number. Every dive number will begin with one of the six numbers and that number will determine what type of dive will be performed.

  • Each type of dive will begin with one of the six numbers.

  • The second numeral in a dive number that is not a handstand and does not include twists, will always be a zero (0).

  • The third number denotes how many rotations, or somersaults will be performed in the dive. The list below shows the number for each somersault that is performed.

  • The final identification for the dive denotes the position of the dive.





In competitions, divers are awarded points up to 10 by each of a panel of judges. In international competition, there are seven judges, although this may be reduced to five, or even three, in local or national events. Each member of the panel scores a dive based on elements such as approach, take-off, execution and entry into the water. The highest and lowest marks awarded are disregarded, and the scores from the remaining judges are added together. This score is then multiplied by the degree of difficulty (or 'tariff') of the dive, which is based on the number and types of manoeuvres attempted, such as somersaults, pikes, tucks and twists.


FINA stipulates the following scores for a dive:diving judges

  • Completely failed 0 Points
  • Unsatisfactory ½ to 2 points
  • Deficient 2½ to 4½ points
  • Satisfactory 5 to 6 point
  • Good 6½ to 8 points
  • Very good 8½ to 10 points